readme: fix link, release doc: add postgres information

asonix/describe-metrics
asonix 3 months ago
parent 605b5ac00d
commit a087ae7372
  1. 2
      README.md
  2. 41
      releases/0.5.0.md

@ -15,7 +15,7 @@ _a simple image hosting service_
2. [Api](#api)
3. [Administration](#administration)
1. [Backups](#backups)
2. [0.4 to 0.5 Migration Guide](#0-4-to-0-5-migration-guide)
2. [0.4 to 0.5 Migration Guide](#04-to-05-migration-guide)
1. [Overview](#overview)
2. [Upgrade Configuration](#upgrade-configuration)
3. [Configuration Updates](#configuration-updates)

@ -44,7 +44,7 @@
- [ini and json5](#ini-and-json5)
- [Client Pool Size](#client-pool-size)
- [0.3 Migration Path](#0-3-migration-path)
- [0.3 Migration Path](#03-migration-path)
- [Prepare Upgrade Endpoint](#prepare-upgrade-endpoint)
@ -66,14 +66,51 @@ will extract metadata for any uploads that have not had their metadata extracted
If you have any custom configuration, note that some media-related configuration values have been
moved. See [Media Configuration](#media-configuration) below.
pict-rs 0.5 now supports postgres for metadata storage. It is possible to upgrade directly from 0.4
to 0.5 with postgres, rather than upgrading to 0.5 with sled and then making the migration later.
This process is documented in the
[pict-rs readme](https://git.asonix.dog/asonix/pict-rs#upgrading-directly-to-postgres).
More information can be found in the
[pict-rs readme](https://git.asonix.dog/asonix/pict-rs#04-to-05-migration-guide).
[pict-rs 0.4 to 0.5 migration guide](https://git.asonix.dog/asonix/pict-rs#04-to-05-migration-guide).
## Descriptions
### Postgres Repo
One of the most anticipated features of pict-rs 0.5 is the support for postgres for metadata
storage. This makes pict-rs (mostly) stateless, enabling it to be scaled horizontally across
multiple physical or virtual hosts. It also simplifies administration and backup processes for folks
who are already running a postgres server for other reasons.
Configuring postgres is simple. The `repo` section of the pict-rs configuration now supports more
than just `sled`.
In the configuration file
```toml
[repo]
type = 'postgres'
url = 'postgres://user:password@host:5432/db'
```
With environment variables
```bash
PICTRS__REPO__TYPE=postgres
PICTRS__REPO__URL=postgres://user:password@host:5432/db
```
On the commandline
```bash
pict-rs run filesystem -p ./data postgres -u 'postgres://user:password@host:5432/db'
```
It is possible to update from 0.4 directly to 0.5 with postgres, this process is documented in the
[pict-rs readme](https://git.asonix.dog/asonix/pict-rs#upgrading-directly-to-postgres).
It is possible to migrate to postgres after first upgrading to 0.5. This is also ducmented in the
[pict-rs readme](https://git.asonix.dog/asonix/pict-rs#sled-to-postgres-migration).
### Media Proxy

Loading…
Cancel
Save